A Stitch In Time

All about my love of yarn, family and friends.

Swaps and all that fun stuff

Posted by sallenlouise on September 20, 2007

MYSTERY YARN BALL SWAP
This is what I sent to my partner for the Mystery Yarn Ball Swap. 

This is what I put together for her! I included this set of stitch markers, plus some Harry Potter trading cards. I also used a skein of RH Symphony to finish wrapping…I ran out! LOL~ This was my first Mystery Yarn Ball swap, and I had lots of fun putting it together. It took a while to wind it all, but that was part of the fun! I hope she enjoyed everything!

Mystery Yarn Ball
Selah’s partner should have received hers by now, but we forgot to take a picture. I do know that everything but the Holiday Knits book and Michaels mints from the 1st pic, plus a pattern book of baby sweaters and a big Strawberry Shortcake sweater book. Her partner makes sweaters for children for charity. Selah thought that would be neat for her to have. I think she yanked some of my pre-made stitch markers..but I can’t remember , lol! I’ll have to ask her.

 

The final results: The 1st one from me, and the 2nd from Selah. We were able to wrap her books up, they were soft. Her skein started out a small looking 3.4 ounce ball, and ended up looking like a skein of RH, the 7 ouncers! Just sort of funny to me, lol!

 

OTHER SWAPS

OK, this is a little clutch/pouch thing that I made for another swap. I wont say which one, or for who, they haven’t received it yet. I just had to share! It’s nothing major, and it’s not what I had planed for it to be, but there you go! I thought it was cute. I used Caron SS for the outside, and RH for the lining. See the button, that’s for easy removal for when you have to wash it. I just realized though, that if the inside needs to be washed, most likely the outside will need to be as well…Hmmm. Ohhh my mind lately!lol!

I have some Halloween squares to show! I love it when I can do this (alternate the colors on the other sq):

As you can see, I have been playing around with the basic granny. I did the diamond by pulling my alternate yarn along. I’m giving this ago, and practicing because pretty soon, I’m going to try crocheting from a chart. That will be interesting, I’m sure!

HSK SWAP

I am working slowly on my kit tote for Miranda. I’m using the colors she likes, and using an afghan pattern that I have, I’m making the tote. What I’m not looking forward to is making the lining. If I can sew one, I might do that, but I really can’t sew…. I know, a lining should be simple enough, but I am challenged in this area. I found this out during HSKS 1. I really did give it my all, but I ended up having to buy a tote for my last parter. 😦 So, I may have to crochet it. YAY!(FYI:That is a sarcastic yay!)

Other News

I am working on something special for Patti. She is the wonderful artist, graphic person that made my banner and button for my Etsy store. Did you notice the petals…AWESOME! She also made me a banner for Tupperware. I love it! You can see it here. Check out her Etsy store, she has some really Cool Cats and other things. I am very great full to her and want to put something special together that she will love.

OK, I have more pics and swap news, but I cant post it all in this post now can I? Nope! So, maybe tomorrow I will post more pics. I hope you are having a great night, I will talk to you soon~

B TUPPERWARE PARTY

 

Click here to check out
Let’s Get Hooked!!

3 Responses to “Swaps and all that fun stuff”

  1. Liz said

    Hi Sonia,
    I loved that site “Feministing”. I agree with so much there.
    Your halloween squares are neat and the stitch markers are so pretty. I have made some and have yet to use them. I am going to have to dig them out and put them to use. I haven’t crocheted any lately. I am still sitting here with sleeves that I need to sew to that cardigan I made.
    I can relate to those naps. I am up so early in the morning that I need a nap and then I am up most of the night. It is one vicious cycle.
    I got your email and I will be emailing soon. I got a late start this evening. B and I have finally got his projects finished.
    Hugs

  2. Liz said

    Hi Sonia,
    I just wanted to wish you a wonderful weekend. Loved the email.
    Hugs

  3. selana said

    please don’t forget about HSKS3 and the last round of quidditch… we really need 100% participation this time

Leave a Reply

 
